Jack of All Trades and Master of None?

I sense that there is a general belief that people are encouraged to specialize as they get older. I find this curious, because even while I do tend to study certain subjects far more in-depth than others, I enjoy learning a wide variety of topics.

In search of some ideas about a brief outline of general learning subject areas, I ran across this list:

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

[https://www.gov.uk/early-years-foundation-stage]

This list is from the Early Years Foundation Stage, and was reccomended for children under the age of five years old. I can’t help but notice that these areas of learning are most certainly important throughout life. As I further into "Higher Education," I am beginning to notice a significantly less emphasis on maintaing coverage of this list.

What stands out the most to me is "Understanding the World." Humanity barely understands the world as it is, and therefore I conjecture that we are all essentially children, and should learn as if we were.

Imagine, if you attempted to cover all of these areas every day. I bet most people cover a decent amount each day without even trying (ex. communication and language + the internet). The challenge will be to cover all of the areas, and a bonus if you can additionally study your personal interest in further depth.

I imagine that a well-balanced person would actually be a "jack of all trades", and those who are "masters of none" are actually more likely to be "masters of balance," and "masters of themselves".

2 thoughts on “Jack of All Trades and Master of None?

  1. Interestingly, I read somewhere (not sure where) that the original phrase was “jack of all trades, master of one.” Huge difference!

    Like

    1. That sounds perfect! Interestingly enough, I find myself to be better at that “one” when I take the time to learn about other things. Enevitably, there is overlap among all the areas

      Like

Leave a Reply

